You Couldn't Make It Up!

by Jack Little

A strenuous game against Cowdenbeath opened season 1925/26. Thistle were winning 3-0 but late on Cowdenbeath were awarded a penalty. Their centre forward had been brought down by Donald but he got up, took the penalty and promptly shot wide. The referee decided that Ramsay had moved off his line too soon and ordered the kick to be re-taken. It was fired wide for a second time at which point Ramsay rushed from his goal and attempted to shake hands with the taker but he didn't appear to share Ramsay's sense of fun. 4 months later during a 2-1 win over Raith Rovers the visitors were awarded a penalty which was duly dispatched. The referee decided Ramsay had moved off his line and ordered it to be re-taken. This time he was beaten by an identical effort. It is not known if he congratulated the scorer.

Publishing date An original Thistle Archive publication, 07-Sep-2020.
Latest edit date Latest edit version 02-Jun-2020.

advertisement

tta.png The Thistle Archive supports the excellent RedYellow.orgexternal-link.png fan initiative - all profits donated to PTFC


ry1.jpg
© The Thistle Archive 2015-2021. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.