You Couldn't Make It Up!

by Jack Little

Linesman scored own goal! "Athletic News" reported "an unpleasant incident" in a friendly against Morton at Cappielow on 10/9/1887. A Thistle free-kick sailed into the box and hit the "umpire" from Morton FC in the chest and rebounded into the net. He had been standing near the post and actually on the field of play. Thistle claimed a goal (it would have put them 3-2 ahead) but Morton protested it should not stand and the referee agreed. It was a decision "which nearly brought the game to an untimely conclusion. Play was at a standstill for a few minutes, but in the end play was resumed". (Morton won 3-2.)

Publishing date An original Thistle Archive publication, 07-Sep-2020.
Latest edit date Latest edit version 02-Jun-2020.

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2022. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.