6th Aug 1973 Stenhousemuir 1 Partick Thistle 2 (Friendly)


Alex Smith Manager(s) Davie McParland man-davie-mcparland.jpg born in Scotland 38y, 3m, 1d
mh-in.png ?
mh-out.png ?
Billy Murdoch (2-1, pen 2nd half) mh-goal.png Tommy Rae (1-0, 30 mins); Alan Munro (2-0, 32 mins)
mh-red-card.png
Jimmy Anderson (Colin McCullie); Kenny Muir (Harry Glasgow); Jim Richardson (Andy Scobie); #8 (Alan Hughes) mh-subs.png ? (Jimmy Caskie); ? (Ronnie Johnston); ? (Alf Stamp); ? (Jim Mullin); ? (Alex Cairns)
Ray Dunlop mh-01.png Tam Gourlay tam-gourlay.jpg Scotland 22y, 10m, 12d
mh-sub-off.png Jimmy Anderson mh-02.png Ian Reid ian-reid.jpg Scotland 22y, 7m, 26d
Archie Rose mh-03.png ? mh-ptfc-player.jpg
Billy Murdoch mh-04.png Nobby Clark nobby-clark.jpg Scotland 21y, 3m, 25d
mh-sub-off.png Kenny Muir mh-05.png Andy Anderson andy-anderson.jpg Scotland 19y, 11m, 30d
? mh-06.png Alan Hansen alan-hansen.jpg Scotland 18y, 1m, 24d
mh-sub-off.png Jim Richardson mh-07.png Johnny Gibson johnny-gibson.jpg England 22y, 7m, 14d
mh-sub-off.png ? mh-08.png Colin Smith colin-smith.jpg Scotland 22y, 6m, 28d
Martin Boyle mh-09.png Tommy Rae tommy-rae.jpg Scotland 27y, 5m, 20d
Russell Halliday mh-10.png Alan Munro alan-munro.jpg Scotland 23y, 0m, 15d
Ian Hume mh-11.png ? mh-ptfc-player.jpg
Age 22y, 3m, 18d
mh-sub-on.png Colin McCullie mh-12.png Jimmy Caskie sub-on.png jimmy-caskie.jpg Scotland 23y, 6m, 29d
mh-sub-on.png Harry Glasgow mh-13.png ? mh-ptfc-player.jpg
mh-sub-on.png Andy Scobie mh-14.png Ronnie Johnston sub-on.png ronnie-johnston.jpg Scotland 19y, 4m, 3d
mh-sub-on.png Alan Hughes mh-15.png Alf Stamp sub-on.png alf-stamp.jpg Scotland 23y, 0m, 10d
mh-16.png Jim Mullin sub-on.png jim-mullin.jpg Scotland 22y, 4m, 8d
mh-17.png Alex Cairns sub-on.png alex-cairns.jpg Scotland 22y, 8m, 7d

notes
  • Alas, the FH is unreadable in places, hence the gaps in both elevens, also affecting one Thistle sub. Alan Hansen #6 isn't readable, but on Monday, 6th August, 1973, the ET wrote: "ALAN HANSEN, teenage brother of Partick Thistle's international full-back John, will make his debut for the Jags tonight against Stenhousemuir at Ochilview, writes JIM BLAIR." Brilliantly, Thistle fan Ian Campbell was there and eyewitnessed the debut! With regards to the substitutions made, the FH merely states that Thistle's subs were "largely used". We've therefore presumed to include the 5 who are readable from the 6 listed. It's not ideal, but it's the resolve which gets closest to the truth.

Info match hubs

question-mark.png If you can help to answer any of these marked questions, then please do get in touch →

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2024. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.