John McCartney Manager(s) George Easton man-george-easton.jpg born in Scotland 31y
In Willie Howden; George Gilchrist; David Melville; Sam Kennedy; Robert Gray
Out Jimmy Brownlie; Archie McKenzie; Murray [ii]; Anderson Tennent; Walter Lindsay
David Wyllie (1-1, 2nd half); David Wyllie (1-2, 2nd half) Scorer(s) Andy Swan (1-0, 20 mins)
Sending Off(s)
Livingstone Rae Goalkeeper Willie Howden willie-howden.jpg Scotland 26y, 5m, 17d
Thomas Jackson no. 2 John Lyon john-lyon.jpg Scotland 23y, 9m, 22d
Archie McCulloch no. 3 George Gilchrist george-gilchrist.jpg Scotland 23y, 8m, 3d
Donald Greenlees no. 4 Neilly Gibson neilly-gibson.jpg Scotland 33y, 2m, 5d
Robert Young no. 5 David Melville david-melville.jpg Scotland 23y, 0m, 13d
Michael McAvoy no. 6 David C. Walker david-c-walker.jpg Scotland
Robert Lynch no. 7 James Sommen james-sommen.jpg Scotland 25y, 0m, 11d
William Macpherson no. 8 Bill Gray bill-gray.jpg Scotland 24y, 1m, 23d
David Wyllie no. 9 Sam Kennedy sam-kennedy.jpg Scotland 25y, 0m, 20d
James Cunningham no. 10 Andy Swan andy-swan.jpg Scotland 28y, 4m, 0d
Andrew Anderson no. 11 Robert Gray robert-gray.jpg Scotland 30y, 1m, 27d
Age 26y, 3m, 14d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines per GH.
  • The OH lists Carrick Hamilton at the expense of Andy Swan, but contradicts itself by listing Swan as scorer but not in the stated eleven. SC also lists Swan as scorer, thereby reaffirming the GH position.
  • We've presumed the GH/PRG's (otherwise unheard of) Cowan in goals for Thistle to be a mis-heard Howden, our regular #1 of the day. However, we acknowledge that he could easily be another trialist, given that we had Jimmy Brownlie (aka "Thomson") of Blantyre Vics, 5 days before. Could this be a second trial game for him, using the "Cowan" psuedonym this time? Our hesitancy to act is furthered by JL's contention that Willie Howden racked up 30 League appearances in 1905-06, in other words he was an ever-present. We'll keep our eyes peeled for any illuminating pre-match team news or post-match comments…
attendance notes
  • 2000 (OH); 2000 (JL)

Info match hubs

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2024. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.