In Daniel Fletcher; Geordie McNicoll
Out William Wallace; John Blackwood
David Maitland (0-1, 1st half); Robert Muir (0-2, 1st half); David Maitland (1-3, 2nd half); Robert Muir (1-4, 2nd half) Scorer(s) Geordie McNicoll (1-2, 2nd half); Geordie McNicoll (2-4, 2nd half)
Sending Off(s)
? Goalkeeper Daniel Fletcher mh-ptfc-player.png probably born in Scotland
? no. 2 Robert Campbell robert-campbell.jpg born in Scotland
? no. 3 Andy Wilson andy-wilson.jpg born in Scotland
? no. 4 William McDonald [i] william-mcdonald-i.jpg probably born in Scotland
? no. 5 David Proudfoot david-proudfoot.jpg born in Scotland 28y, 0m, 6d
? no. 6 William Goudie william-goudie.jpg born in Scotland 21y, 0m, 19d
? no. 7 David Fairbairn mh-ptfc-player.png probably born in Scotland
? no. 8 Willie Freebairn willie-freebairn.jpg born in Scotland 25y, 2m, 29d
David Maitland no. 9 Geordie McNicoll geordie-mcnicoll.jpg probably born in Scotland
Robert Muir no. 10 Willie Paul willie-paul.jpg born in Scotland 34y, 2m, 0d
? no. 11 Davy McDougall davy-mcdougall.jpg born in Scotland 21y, 4m, 4d
Age 25y, 11m, 17d

teamline notes
  • Thistle per OH (GK and CF excepted), opposition as yet unsourced.
  • OH has William Wallace in goals but the DEP (11/4/1900), ASH and the SR all have compelling reports which state (in their own various ways) that the junior (Daniel) Fletcher (Greenock Volunteers) tried in goals for Thistle. Furthermore, ASH says that Thistle had Paul instead of Blackwood (he was less effective than usual because of "a hurt"), but OH has them both playing. Both the ASH and SR accounts tell us that Geordie McNicoll played (the latter stating that it was at the expense of Blackwood), and we have therefore replaced the OH's John Blackwood with Geordie McNicoll.
  • Individual appearances are appointed from contemporary press reports, with the positions usually being an educated guess.
dubious goals panel
  • The OH lists Davy McDougall and David Fairbairn as scorers, but the ASH match report credits Geordie McNicoll with the brace. Since the OH line-up is provably wrong, we are more inclined to go with the latter account.
attendance notes
  • 2000 (OH)

Info match hubs

question-mark.png If you can help to answer any of these marked questions, then please do get in touch →

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2022. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.