In William Goudie
Out Patrick McWilliams
William Campbell (0-1, 1st half); Robert McIntyre (1-2, 1st half) Scorer(s) John Blackwood (1-1, 1st half); Willie Freebairn (2-2, 1st half)
Sending Off(s)
Robert Thomson Goalkeeper Archie McDonald archie-mcdonald.jpg Scotland
Andrew McLean no. 2 Robert Campbell robert-campbell.jpg Scotland 18y, 7m, 14d
William McCrone no. 3 Andy Wilson andy-wilson.jpg Scotland
John McKenzie no. 4 James Bryce james-bryce.jpg Scotland
Thomas Thomson no. 5 David Proudfoot david-proudfoot.jpg Scotland 27y, 8m, 29d
James McIntosh no. 6 William Goudie william-goudie.jpg Scotland 20y, 9m, 11d
Matthew Robertson no. 7 David Fairbairn david-fairbairn.jpg Scotland
William Campbell no. 8 Willie Freebairn willie-freebairn.jpg Scotland 24y, 11m, 21d
Robert McIntyre no. 9 John Blackwood john-blackwood.jpg Scotland 22y, 3m, 29d
Walter McDonald no. 10 Willie Paul willie-paul.jpg Scotland 33y, 10m, 23d
James Currie no. 11 Davy McDougall davy-mcdougall.jpg Scotland 21y, 0m, 27d
Age 24y, 2m, 14d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines (largely) per SR, OH concurs.
  • Strangely, the paper omits #4, #5 and #6 of Thistle.
dubious goals panel
  • The OH credits Willie Paul and Davy McDougall with Thistle's goals, but we're put off by the fact that we haven't seen any contemporary evidence for that and the fact that JL goes with two totally different Thistle scorers - John Blackwood and Willie Freebairn. The only account of the scorers that we've seen is in the SR, which verifies Blackwood for Thistle's first, but fails to name a scorer for the second. We notice that, in total, 3 of JL's 4 scorers are backed up by the SR account, and therefore put our faith in his 'full set' and thereby his assertion of Blackwood and Freebairn.
attendance notes
  • 2500 (OH); 2500 (JL)

Info match hubs

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2022. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.