In Robert Campbell; Walter Collier
Out L. Rae; David Campbell
Walter Cowan (0-1, 1st half) Scorer(s) Geordie McNicoll (1-1, 35 mins); Willie Paul (2-1, 2nd half); Willie Freebairn (3-1, 2nd half)
Sending Off(s)
James Watt Goalkeeper Archie McDonald archie-mcdonald.jpg Scotland
Peter Grant no. 2 Robert Campbell robert-campbell.jpg Scotland 18y, 3m, 3d
Thomas Keir no. 3 Andy Wilson andy-wilson.jpg Scotland 24y, 0m, 25d
Walter Cowan no. 4 William McDonald [i] william-mcdonald-i.jpg Scotland
Matthew Smith no. 5 David Proudfoot david-proudfoot.jpg Scotland 27y, 4m, 18d
James Russell no. 6 William Goudie william-goudie.jpg Scotland 20y, 5m, 0d
Alex Barrowman no. 7 Walter Collier walter-collier.jpg Scotland 22y, 8m, 28d
Andrew Wilson no. 8 Willie Freebairn willie-freebairn.jpg Scotland 24y, 7m, 10d
Matthew Smith no. 9 Willie Paul willie-paul.jpg Scotland 33y, 6m, 12d
Abraham Wales no. 10 Geordie McNicoll geordie-mcnicoll.jpg Scotland
John Watt no. 11 Davy McDougall davy-mcdougall.jpg Scotland 20y, 8m, 16d
Age 23y, 11m, 17d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines per GH, OH concurs.
extra notes
  • With Thistle's team on the park and ready, the scheduled 3.30pm kick-off time was delayed for 45 mins due to the late arrival of Motherwell's Kilwinning contingent.
dubious goals panel
  • There is some doubt about Thistle's second goal. The OH (by process of elimination)/HA/EY/JL and the GH contend that it was Willie Paul, whilst the MT/SR/ACA credits David Proudfoot. We stick with the OH/GH in the meantime, but no account is convincing.
attendance notes
  • 2000 (OH); 2000 (JL)

Info match hubs

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2024. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.