In Robert Currie; Andrew Mailer; William Ward
Out Paddy Gray; John Proudfoot; Sam Donaldson
Scorer(s) Willie Paul (1-0, 5 mins); William Ward (2-0, 1st half); Willie Paul (3-0, 1st half); William Lawson (4-0, 1st half); James Lamont (5-0, 1st half); John Ferguson (6-0, 2nd half)
Sending Off(s)
James Clark Goalkeeper John C. Spence john-c-spence.jpg England 23y, 1m, 16d
Samuel Neill no. 2 Jamie Auchincloss jamie-auchincloss.jpg Scotland 23y, 10m, 10d
Michael Dailly no. 3 Abe Morrison abe-morrison.jpg Scotland 21y, 11m, 22d
Gourlay no. 4 James Lamont james-lamont.jpg Scotland 24y, 4m, 12d
Lachie Thomson no. 5 Robert Currie robert-currie.jpg Scotland
William Edgar no. 6 William McDonald [i] william-mcdonald-i.jpg Scotland
Walter Maxwell no. 7 William Lawson william-lawson.jpg Scotland
Edward Goldie no. 8 Andrew Mailer andrew-mailer.jpg Scotland 20y, 2m, 30d
Peter Logan no. 9 Willie Paul willie-paul.jpg Scotland 31y, 0m, 6d
William Galloway no. 10 John Ferguson john-ferguson.jpg Scotland
James Law no. 11 William Ward william-ward.jpg Scotland 22y, 0m, 14d
Age 23y, 9m, 21d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines per MT, OH concurs.
extra notes
  • Re-arranged from the original date of 30 January, 1897, which was postponed due to snow.
dubious goals panel
  • Good luck to any historian opening this goalscorers pandoras box. You can check several reports and get no consensus across the lot. Groan. Our sequence takes a view from across the board and ultimately matches the JL totals of Willie Paul (2), William Ward (1), William Lawson (1), James Lamont (1) and John Ferguson (1). We wish never to open this box again.
attendance notes
  • 4000 (OH); 2000 (JL)

Info match hubs

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2024. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.