In Abe Morrison
Out Willie Paul
? (1-1, 44 mins); Thomas McMaster (1-2, 50 mins); Adam Elliot (1-3, 53 mins); Alex McDougall (1-4, 2nd half); Robert Davidson (1-5, 2nd half); Thomas McMaster (1-6, 2nd half); ? (1-7, 2nd half) | UNPLACED: Robert Davidson; Alex McDougall Scorer(s) William McDonald [i] (1-0, 1st half)
Sending Off(s)
Robert MacFarlane Goalkeeper John C. Spence john-c-spence.jpg England 22y, 2m, 15d
George Buist no. 2 Robert Ferguson robert-ferguson.jpg Scotland
Angus McKinlay no. 3 Abe Morrison abe-morrison.jpg Scotland 21y, 0m, 21d
Henry Rennie no. 4 A. H. Cunningham mh-ptfc-player.jpg Scotland
Alex McDougall no. 5 David Proudfoot david-proudfoot.jpg Scotland 23y, 11m, 13d
Adam Elliot no. 6 James Lamont james-lamont.jpg Scotland 23y, 5m, 13d
Robert Davidson no. 7 John Proudfoot john-proudfoot.jpg Scotland 22y, 0m, 16d
Thomas McMaster no. 8 William McDonald [i] william-mcdonald-i.jpg Scotland
John Cameron no. 9 Robert Currie robert-currie.jpg Scotland
James McKendrick no. 10 William Lawson william-lawson.jpg Scotland
Alex McGregor no. 11 John Campbell john-campbell.jpg Scotland 18y, 5m, 12d
Age 21y, 10m, 9d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines per GT, OH concurs (albeit in a different order).
  • Mysteriously, the DC on 16/3/1896 reported that during the match "Charles Smart one of the Partick Thistle team had his arm broken"!
dubious goals panel
  • Morton's goals 2 to 6 are from the GT account. The unplaced goals come from JL. Numbers-wise, all but one goal stacks up between JL/GT - where GT says Elliott JL says McGregor. Since JL has McGregor in itallics (meaning the scorer is implied rather than certain) we've opted to go with the GT for that one.
attendance notes
  • 3000 (OH); 3000 (JL)

Info match hubs

question-mark.png If you can help to answer any of these marked questions, then please do get in touch →

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2024. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.