In John Gilchrist; McKnight; Ralph McElhaney
Out Abe Morrison; John Proudfoot; R. Lamont
Scorer(s) Willie Paul (1-0, 1st half); Willie Paul (2-0, 55 mins); James Bryce (3-0, 70 mins)
Sending Off(s)
Francis Barrett Goalkeeper David Proudfoot david-proudfoot.jpg Scotland 23y, 9m, 1d
John Darroch no. 2 George Stewart george-stewart.jpg Scotland
Charles Craig no. 3 Robert Currie robert-currie.jpg Scotland
Alex Craig no. 4 James Bryce james-bryce.jpg Scotland
James Dundas no. 5 James Lamont james-lamont.jpg Scotland 23y, 3m, 1d
John Low no. 6 William McDonald [i] william-mcdonald-i.jpg Scotland
William Thomson no. 7 John Gilchrist john-gilchrist.jpg Scotland
Alexander Gilligan no. 8 McKnight mh-ptfc-player.jpg Scotland
Thomas Vail no. 9 Willie Paul willie-paul.jpg Scotland 29y, 10m, 26d
Tosh no. 10 Ralph McElhaney ralph-mcelhaney.jpg Scotland 21y, 9m, 16d
Williamson no. 11 John Campbell john-campbell.jpg Scotland 18y, 3m, 0d
Age 23y, 4m, 22d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines per DC.
  • Goalkeeper listed as "Proudfoot" which could be either John or David from this period. We note that John was listed in the team at Aberdeen two days later, so it could be assumed he was in the touring party and a case could be made for him. However, both Proudfoots were listed in the previous game (21.12.1895 vs. Celtic 'A'), with John at inside right and David in goals, so this swings the pendulum of probability back towards the latter, and we therefore go with David. We continue to search for anything more concrete in the hope that there may be some other press snippets which could shed some light.

Info match hubs

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2024. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.