In Willie Freebairn
Out David Bruce
Gibbon (0-1, 1st half); Gilchrist (3-2, 1st half); Andrew Spence (3-3, 2nd half) Scorer(s) John Campbell (1-1, 1st half); John Wilkie (2-1, 1st half); Willie Paul (3-1, 1st half); John Wilkie (4-3, 2nd half)
Sending Off(s)
Thomas Duff Goalkeeper Pat Smith pat-smith.jpg Scotland
James McBlane no. 2 Robert Ferguson robert-ferguson.jpg Scotland
Peter Maxwell no. 3 Bob Campbell bob-campbell.jpg Scotland 27y, 5m, 17d
Robert McFarlane no. 4 James Bryce james-bryce.jpg Scotland
John Shanks no. 5 Paddy Gray paddy-gray.jpg Scotland 22y, 0m, 11d
future Jag James Lamont no. 6 William Hyndman mh-ptfc-player.jpg Scotland
Gibbon no. 7 John Proudfoot john-proudfoot.jpg Scotland 20y, 9m, 18d
Robert Thorburn no. 8 Willie Freebairn willie-freebairn.jpg Scotland 19y, 11m, 6d
David McFetridge no. 9 Willie Paul willie-paul.jpg Scotland 28y, 10m, 8d
Gilchrist no. 10 John Wilkie john-wilkie.jpg Scotland 18y, 4m, 0d
Andrew Spence no. 11 John Campbell john-campbell.jpg Scotland 17y, 2m, 13d
Age 22y, 0m, 31d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines per GH, OH concurs (albeit with a swap around between 7 & 8).
dubious goals panel
  • OH lists John Wilkie, Willie Paul, John Campbell as scorers, and is short by 1. JL lists John Campbell (3) and Willie Freebairn. GH or SC list no scorers. We've seen no contemporary evidence to back up the latter account, so have gone with the only report (SR) which is fully stating names and sequence. Furthermore, we've had to interpret that paper's "Cameron" as a mistyped "Campbell"! This pretty much ties in with the OH, with the second for Wilkie now completing their account. With regards to Cowlairs' opener, JL lists Robert Thorburn, but we've gone with Gibbon per the SR report.
attendance notes
  • 1000 (OH); 1000 (JL)

Info match hubs

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2024. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.