In J. Bennett
Out James Henry Davie
McInnes (0-1, 10 mins); McInnes (1-2, 2nd half) Scorer(s) ? (1-1, 2nd half); David Bruce (2-2, 2nd half)
Sending Off(s)
Reid Goalkeeper James Marshall james-marshall.jpg Scotland
Herd no. 2 William Proudfoot william-proudfoot.jpg Scotland 26y, 1m, 0d
Baker no. 3 Thomas Campbell thomas-campbell.jpg Scotland
Robert Mackie no. 4 Jacky Smith jacky-smith.jpg Scotland
Love no. 5 Willie Paul willie-paul.jpg Scotland 26y, 0m, 20d
McKenzie no. 6 David Bruce david-bruce.jpg Scotland
Ward no. 7 James Miller james-miller.jpg Scotland
Mills no. 8 Billy Fleming billy-fleming.jpg Scotland 20y, 2m, 16d
McInnes no. 9 Lawrence Proudfoot lawrence-proudfoot.jpg Scotland 21y, 10m, 18d
former Jag Adam Carson no. 10 J. Bennett j-bennett.jpg Scotland
Gillespie no. 11 John Gilchrist john-gilchrist.jpg Scotland
Age 23y, 6m, 23d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines derived from NBDM, OH basically concurs albeit with some positional differences.
  • The NBDM only lists 10 players for Thistle, and we've presumed they've missed Willie Paul who is the stated #5 in the OH. Also, we've presumed the NBDM's (othewise unheard of) Barnett to be Bennett, our forward of the day. Also problematic is the initial "J" for Proudfoot at #9 as "L" Proudfoot is our expected forward of the day. We stick with Lawrence in the meantime per the OH, but some deeper investigation may be required. From the Glasgow Thistle perspective, we've assumed "Carmen" to be a misheard "Carson" i.e. Adam Carson, the regular Glasgow Thistle forward of the day.
  • The predicted team in the GEP (26/2/1892) matches the OH albeit with a few positional changes and the Proudfoot discrepancy.
extra notes
  • GH reports a 4-0 victory for the Swifts v Thistle at Inchview, strangely, no mention of the first team game away.
dubious goals panel
  • OH lists a 2-3 defeat here, although this was clearly a 2-2 draw as per APJ/AEE/SR/EC and AFS annual for 1891-92. The SR credits David Bruce with Thistle's second goal, although the EC says it was John Gilchrist. We stick with Bruce as per SR/OH in the meantime.

Info match hubs

question-mark.png If you can help to answer any of these marked questions, then please do get in touch →

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2022. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.