In John Hendry; Matthew Ferguson
Out Bob Robertson; J. Bennett
John Oswald (2-1, 45 mins) Scorer(s) Willie Paul (1-0, 20 mins); Willie Paul (2-0, 30 mins)
Sending Off(s)
Robert Downie Goalkeeper John McCorkindale john-mccorkindale.jpg Scotland 21y, 2m, 11d
James Rae no. 2 Thomas Campbell thomas-campbell.jpg Scotland
Andrew Thomson no. 3 John Hendry john-hendry.jpg Northern Ireland
Alex Ferguson no. 4 George Ward george-ward.jpg India 25y, 2m, 2d
John Auld no. 5 William Proudfoot william-proudfoot.jpg Scotland 22y, 9m, 14d
William Johnston no. 6 Bob Marshall bob-marshall.jpg Scotland 24y, 0m, 11d
James Hannah no. 7 David Hislop david-hislop.jpg Scotland 18y, 1m, 29d
James Morrison no. 8 McBride mcbride.jpg Scotland
John Oswald no. 9 Willie Paul willie-paul.jpg Scotland 22y, 9m, 3d
McIntyre no. 10 Andrew Johnston andrew-johnston.jpg Scotland 23y, 0m, 29d
John Marshall no. 11 Matthew Ferguson matthew-ferguson.jpg Scotland
Age 22y, 5m, 15d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines per GH.
  • OH has a differing sequence and includes J. Bennett at the expense of Matthew Ferguson. The appearance for Ferguson is consolidated at the EC, the GEP & the NBDM.
dubious goals panel
  • The OH/EY/GEP/NBDM all credit Wille Paul with Thistle's opener but the GH/APJ/EC all say it was Bob Marshall. Curiously, when speaking of the second goal, the GH has the phrase "Paul again scored for the Thistle", implying that he also got the first, although perhaps this was just a clumsy use of language. In any case, we stick with the Willie Paul brace as per the OH, but we'll never know for sure.
attendance notes
  • 4000 (OH)

Info match hubs

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2024. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.