In no changes
Out no changes
John McPherson (3-1, 76 mins) Scorer(s) Willie Paul (1-0, 12 mins); Willie Paul (2-0, 70 mins); Andrew Johnston (3-0, 72 mins); Bob Marshall (4-1, 89 mins)
Sending Off(s)
James Richmond Goalkeeper T. Burns t-burns.jpg Scotland
A. Young no. 2 John Munro john-munro.jpg Scotland
Thomas Porteous no. 3 John Hendry john-hendry.jpg Northern Ireland
David Mitchell no. 4 Bob Robertson bob-robertson.jpg Scotland 22y, 5m, 21d
Alex Dunn no. 5 R. Middleton r-middleton.jpg Scotland
W. Young no. 6 John Stewart john-stewart.jpg Scotland
John McPherson no. 7 Jim Buchanan jim-buchanan.jpg Scotland
F. McGuinness no. 8 Bob Marshall bob-marshall.jpg Scotland 23y, 0m, 13d
Alex Higgins no. 9 Willie Paul willie-paul.jpg Scotland 21y, 9m, 5d
John Smith no. 10 Andrew Johnston andrew-johnston.jpg Scotland 22y, 1m, 0d
John Taylor no. 11 Jerry Suter jerry-suter.jpg Scotland 24y, 5m, 9d
Age 22y, 9m, 3d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines per GH, OH concurs (albeit in a different order).
dubious goals panel
  • Reading the reports, there's a strong case for Thistle's first being an own goal by Porteous; "Paul sent in a flying shot which Porteous, in his endeavour to stop, kicked through his own goal" (SC) and the SCL likewise infers the o.g. However, it's feasible that Willie's shot may have been on-target and the GH certainly gives him the credit. We stick with Willie Paul per the GH & OH. Kilmarnock's goal is credited to McGuinnes (SC) but McPherson (GH/SCL) and we side with the 2-1 majority.
attendance notes
  • 5000 (OH); 5000 (SC)

Info match hubs

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2024. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.