In Urquhart; McLachlan [ii]; Traill
Out T. Burns; John Stewart; R. Middleton
McKerrol (1-1, 50 mins); Coogan (1-2, 2nd half); Patrick Dowling (1-3, 2nd half) Scorer(s) Willie Paul (1-0, 23 mins)
Sending Off(s)
Vincent Goalkeeper Urquhart mh-ptfc-player.jpg Scotland
Forbes no. 2 John Munro john-munro.jpg Scotland
McLachlan no. 3 John Hendry john-hendry.jpg Northern Ireland
James Gourlay no. 4 Bob Robertson bob-robertson.jpg Scotland 22y, 4m, 16d
Patrick Dowling no. 5 McLachlan [ii] mh-ptfc-player.jpg Scotland
R. McFarlane no. 6 Traill mh-ptfc-player.jpg Scotland
Coogan no. 7 Bob Marshall bob-marshall.jpg Scotland 22y, 11m, 8d
McKerrol no. 8 Jim Buchanan jim-buchanan.jpg Scotland
Hunter no. 9 Willie Paul willie-paul.jpg Scotland 21y, 8m, 1d
James Graham no. 10 Jerry Suter jerry-suter.jpg Scotland 24y, 4m, 5d
Alexander Neil no. 11 Andrew Johnston andrew-johnston.jpg Scotland 21y, 11m, 26d
Age 22y, 7m, 29d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines per GEP.
  • GH has Louth instead of Suter at no.10. OH has Middleton instead of Trail at no.6. We go with the GEP and the GT concurs, explaining that Thistle turned up 1 short and Trail (most likely to be Traill) played for us as a guest. Furthermore, Suter is mentioned by name in the body of the GT report.
dubious goals panel
  • Port's second goal is credited to Dowling in the GT, but the GH reckons it was Coogan. Reporting of the third is also contradictory; the GT states that “Coogan and Graham scored a third between them”, whilst the GH credits Dowling. We go with the GH in both instances who describe the goals well and serve up no dilemma!
attendance notes

Info match hubs

question-mark.png If you can help to answer any of these marked questions, then please do get in touch →

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2024. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.