In Raglan Brown; McLaughlin; Chisholm; Clark
Out R. Middleton; John Caldwell; John Young [ii]; John Marshall
Alexander Neil (0-1, 55 mins) Scorer(s)
Sending Off(s)
Goff Goalkeeper Andrew Duff andrew-duff.jpg Scotland 27y, 11m, 16d
? no. 2 Raglan Brown mh-ptfc-player.jpg Scotland
? no. 3 McLaughlin mh-ptfc-player.jpg Scotland
McFarlane no. 4 Bob Robertson bob-robertson.jpg Scotland 21y, 10m, 4d
? no. 5 William McDonald [i] william-mcdonald-i.jpg Scotland
? no. 6 Andrew Milliken andrew-milliken.jpg Scotland
Graham no. 7 Chisholm mh-ptfc-player.jpg Scotland
? no. 8 Clark mh-ptfc-player.jpg Scotland
Alexander Neil no. 9 Willie Paul willie-paul.jpg Scotland 21y, 1m, 19d
Birkmyre no. 10 Jerry Suter jerry-suter.jpg Scotland 23y, 9m, 23d
McMinn no. 11 Andrew Johnston andrew-johnston.jpg Scotland 21y, 5m, 14d
Age 25y, 1m, 24d

teamline notes
  • Hybrid/potted teamlines per OH/GT (see below).
  • Unfortunately, the OH eleven is contradicted by both the GT and GH, both of which clearly state Thistle turned up light and that 4 Port players (confirmed as Raglan Brown, Chisholm, Clark and McLaughlin in the GT) made up the Thistle numbers. With the local paper being closest to the scene, we can be fairly certain the OH line-up can't be correct. Port's team line-ups of the time are scarce, but we've made a rudimentary stab at placing the 4 players in question. OH lists 'Brown' at #2, interpreted here as 'Raglan Brown' of PGA. OH lists 'Caldwell' at #3, interpreted here as 'McLaughlin' of PGA, who played in that position against Thistle in October 1887 and January 1888. OH lists 'John Young' at #7, interpreted here as 'Chisholm' of PGA. Chisholm is the only one that we can't establish for a guessed position, and we place him there on the flimsy basis that Young never played for the club again. OH lists 'John Marshall' at #8, interpreted here as 'Clark' who played there against Thistle a couple of seasons earlier and in a recent PGA press report.

Info match hubs

question-mark.png If you can help to answer any of these marked questions, then please do get in touch →

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2024. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.