In Kerr [i]; William McDonald [i]; John Caldwell; Tom Maley; Evans
Out Andrew Duff; Alexander Brown; Jerry Suter; P. Ewing; James Miller
Jim Buick (0-1, 1st half); Jim Buick (0-2, 1st half); Jim Milne (0-3, 1st half); Jim Milne (0-4, 1st half); David Crawford (0-5, 1st half); Jim Milne (1-6, 2nd half) Scorer(s) ? (1-5, 2nd half)
John Addison Goalkeeper Kerr [i] mh-ptfc-player.jpg Scotland
Tom Salmond no. 2 John Hendry john-hendry.jpg Northern Ireland
Wilson no. 3 George McKay george-mckay.jpg Scotland 24y, 3m, 22d
Dyken Bruce no. 4 Peter Miller peter-miller.jpg Scotland 27y, 2m, 7d
Henry Rennie no. 5 William McDonald [i] william-mcdonald-i.jpg Scotland
Jim Milne no. 6 John Marshall john-marshall.jpg Scotland 35y, 0m, 9d
Jim Buick no. 7 John Caldwell john-caldwell.jpg Scotland 22y, 0m, 0d
Johnny Tackett no. 8 Bob Robertson bob-robertson.jpg Scotland 19y, 10m, 18d
Jim Marshall no. 9 Andrew Johnston andrew-johnston.jpg Scotland 19y, 5m, 28d
David Crawford no. 10 Tom Maley tom-maley.jpg England 20y, 5m, 1d
John Robertson no. 11 Evans mh-ptfc-player.jpg Scotland
Age 24y, 0m, 15d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines per DA.
  • We've deduced that the 'Maillie' listed at #10 is a mis-spelled 'Maley' and note that the DET (20/1/1885) mentions "Mailley of Partick Thistle, a player now well known in Dundee, had a place in the Glasgow team", referring to the Glasgow v Birmingham fixture on 17/1/1885.
  • We presume Kerr and Evans (one-off appearances) to be the guests from Renton and Old Boys as mentioned in the DA.
  • As confirmed by Arbroath historian Simon Reynolds, the player listed as 'Munro' was one and the same as 'Jim Buick', which he settled on for the majority of his career.

Info match hubs

question-mark.png If you can help to answer any of these marked questions, then please do get in touch →

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2024. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.