Second Division Champions; the story of 1896-97 is published at PT Early Years external-link.png
PTFC Kit 1896-97
1896-97
The 22nd season of Partick Thistle F.C.
pointer.jpg access match hub
1. Sat-15-Aug-1896 [a] (?-?) D2-2 Dumbarton (SFL Second Division - game 1)
2. Sat-22-Aug-1896 [h] (1-0) D2-2 Morton (SFL Second Division - game 2)
3. Sat-05-Sep-1896 [h] (1-0) W2-1 Renton (SFL Second Division - game 3)
4. Sat-12-Sep-1896 [h] (0-1) D1-1 Linthouse (Scottish Qualifying Cup 1st Round)
5. Sat-19-Sep-1896 [a] (5-0) W5-3 Linthouse (Scottish Qualifying Cup 1st Round replay)
6. Sat-26-Sep-1896 [h] (1-0) W2-0 Royal Albert (Scottish Qualifying Cup 2nd Round)
7. Sat-03-Oct-1896 [h] (3-?) W4-1 Cameronians (Glasgow Cup 1st Round)
8. Sat-10-Oct-1896 [h] (2-1) W4-3 Airdrieonians (SFL Second Division - game 4)
9. Sat-17-Oct-1896 [a] (1-3) L1-3 Linthouse (Glasgow Cup Quarter Final)
10. Sat-24-Oct-1896 [h] (?-?) W9-2 Newton Stewart (Scottish Qualifying Cup 3rd Round)
11. Sat-31-Oct-1896 [h] (2-?) W4-1 Cambuslang (Friendly)
12. Sat-07-Nov-1896 [h] (2-4) L2-5 Kilmarnock (Scottish Qualifying Cup 4th Round)
13. Sat-14-Nov-1896 [h] (1-0) W6-1 Dumbarton (SFL Second Division - game 5)
14. Sat-21-Nov-1896 [h] (1-1) W3-2 Linthouse (SFL Second Division - game 6)
15. Sat-28-Nov-1896 [a] (0-0) W2-1 Airdrieonians (SFL Second Division - game 7)
16. Sat-05-Dec-1896 [h] (2-0) W4-1 Port Glasgow Athletic (SFL Second Division - game 8)
17. Sat-12-Dec-1896 [a] (0-3) L1-3 Leith Athletic (SFL Second Division - game 9)
18. Sat-19-Dec-1896 [h] (0-0) W2-1 Vale of Leven (Friendly)
19. Sat-26-Dec-1896 [h] (4-1) W5-1 Cartvale (Friendly)
20. Sat-09-Jan-1897 [h] (1-3) L2-4 Rangers (Scottish Cup 1st Round)
21. Sat-16-Jan-1897 [a] (1-1) D2-2 Port Glasgow Athletic (SFL Second Division - game 10)
22. Sat-23-Jan-1897 [a] (2-0) W2-1 Renton (SFL Second Division - game 11)
23. Sat-13-Feb-1897 [a] (5-0) W6-0 Motherwell (SFL Second Division - game 12)
24. Sat-20-Feb-1897 [h] (2-1) W6-2 Motherwell (SFL Second Division - game 13)
25. Sat-27-Feb-1897 [a] (2-3) W5-3 Linthouse (SFL Second Division - game 14)
26. Sat-06-Mar-1897 [h] (3-1) W6-2 Airdrieonians (Friendly)
27. Sat-13-Mar-1897 [h] (1-0) W3-0 Renton (Friendly)
28. Sat-20-Mar-1897 [h] (2-0) W5-0 Leith Athletic (SFL Second Division - game 15)
29. Sat-27-Mar-1897 [a] (1-1) W3-1 Kilmarnock (SFL Second Division - game 16)
30. Sat-03-Apr-1897 [h] (0-0) D1-1 Linthouse (Friendly)
31. Sat-10-Apr-1897 [h] (2-2) D2-2 Third Lanark (Friendly)
32. Sat-17-Apr-1897 [h] (1-0) W2-0 Kilmarnock (SFL Second Division - game 17)
33. Sat-24-Apr-1897 [a] (2-0) W4-3 Morton (SFL Second Division - game 18)
34. Wed-28-Apr-1897 [h] (3-0) W4-3 Blackburn Rovers (Friendly)
35. Sat-01-May-1897 [h] (0-2) L3-4 Clyde (Friendly)
36. Thu-06-May-1897 [h] (1-0) W2-0 St Bernard's (Friendly)
37. Sat-08-May-1897 [a] (2-1) W2-1 Dundee (Friendly)
38. Fri-14-May-1897 [a] (0-1) D1-1 Arthurlie (Friendly)
1896-97 summary

P38 W26 D7 L5 (2.237 ppg)

Historical PT average: 1.406 ppg (@ 31-Jul-2022)
  • The points-per-game measurements (ppg) above are calculated from our all games criteria, based on 1 point for a draw and 3 points for a win across all eras.
  • How does this season compare? The answers are at your fingertips via our 21 (sortable) results summary tables →
  • Thistle finish as Scotland's 11th club out of 20 in the Leagues. At the end of 1896-97, the club's historical average finish improves to 14th.





PTFC Kit 1896-97

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2021. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.