Partick Thistle Reserves Season 1889-90
PTFC Kit 1889-90
1889-90 (Reserves)
The fifteenth season of Partick Thistle F.C.
scorers in CAPS
1. Sat-10-Aug-1889 [a] W2-1 Jordanhill (Friendly)
GH 12/8/1889. Line-up and scorers as yet unsourced.
2. Sat-17-Aug-1889 [a] L1-4 Slamannan Rovers (Friendly)
GH 19/8/1889. Line-up and scorer as yet unsourced.
3. Sat-31-Aug-1889 [h] W5-4 Renton (Friendly)
GH 2/9/1889. Line-up and scorers as yet unsourced.
4. Sat-21-Sep-1889 [h] L1-3 Dumbarton (Scottish 2nd XI Cup 1st Round)
DH 25/9/1889. MILLER. Line-up as yet unsourced.
A goal by Miller to take the lead was all Thistle could muster. The Dumbarton keeper was in great form. It was 1-1 at half-time and two more goals meant an early exit from the competition.
5. Sat-05-Oct-1889 [a] W6-3 Port Glasgow Athletic (Friendly)
GH 7/10/1889. Line-up and scorers as yet unsourced.
6. Sat-19-Oct-1889 [h] W3-1 Hibernian (Friendly)
GH 21/10/1889. Line-up and scorers as yet unsourced.
7. Sat-26-Oct-1889 [h] D1-1 Cowlairs (Friendly)
GH 28/10/1889. Line-up and scorer as yet unsourced.
8. Sat-09-Nov-1889 [a] L2-3 Dumbarton Rangers (Friendly)
DH 13/11/1889. Line-up and scorers as yet unsourced.
Thistle took an early lead and, keeping the pressure on, they went 2-up. The locals fought back to level before half-time. A brilliant run led to the winner in the second half.
9. Sat-09-Nov-1889 [h] W4-0 Battlefield (Friendly)
GEP 8/11/1889. (Predicted) Mathewson, McLean, Freebairn (D), Freebairn (A), Smith (J), Daisley (J), Suter, McLeod, Proudfoot, Bennett, Clyments. Confirmed line-up and scorers as yet unsourced.
10. Sat-23-Nov-1889 [h] W9-1 Morton (Friendly)
GH 25/11/1889. Line-up and scorers as yet unsourced.
11. Sat-30-Nov-1889 [h] W3-1 Rangers (Friendly)
GEP 30/11/1899. Marshall, McLean, Fairbairn (D), McDonald, Fairbairn (A), Smith, Suter, McLeod, Proudfoot, Bennett, McClements. Scorers as yet unsourced.
12. Sat-21-Dec-1889 [h] W5-0 Clyde (Friendly)
GH 23/12/1889. Line-up and scorers as yet unsourced.
Thistle had the best of things from the start and led 3-0 at half-time. The second half was more even but even then Thistle had the upper hand and scored a couple more for a big win.
13. Sat-28-Dec-1889 [a] D3-3 Kilsyth Wanderers (Friendly)
GH 30/12/1889. Line-up and scorers as yet unsourced.
14. Sat-18-Jan-1890 [h] W6-2 Port Glasgow Athletic (Friendly)
GT 20/1/1890. Line-up and scorers as yet unsourced.
15. Sat-15-Feb-1890 [h] L4-6 St Mirren (Friendly)
PDE 17/2/1890. Line-up and scorers as yet unsourced.
Played at Partick and resulted in a win for the Saints by 6 goals to 4.
16. Sat-22-Feb-1890 [a] L1-7 Clyde (Friendly)
SR and GH 24/2/1890. Line-up and scorer as yet unsourced. The "big team" beat Clyde 8-1 on the same day.
17. Sat-15-Mar-1890 [h] W2-1 Linthouse (Friendly)
GH 17/3/1890. Line-up and scorers as yet unsourced.
18. Sat-05-Apr-1890 [h] L1-2 Abercorn (Friendly)
PDE 7/4/1890. Line-up and scorer as yet unsourced.
19. Sat-19-Apr-1890 [a] L1-3 Renton (Friendly)
GH 21/4/1890. Line-up and scorer as yet unsourced.
20. Sat-03-May-1890 [a] L3-5 Dalry (Friendly)
NBDM 5/5/1890. Line-up and scorers as yet unsourced.
1889-90 Reserves summary notes

P20 W10 D2 L8 (1.6 ppg)

Historical PT Reserves average: 1.462 ppg (@ 22-Aug-2023)
  • The points-per-game measurements (ppg) above are calculated on the same principle as the first-team's all games category, and are based on 1 point for a draw and 3 points for a win across all eras.

see also: 1889-90 (first-team) →






PTFC Kit 1889-90

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2024. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.